Pucker up baby


“What do you want as a leaving present?” I asked my friend, who was taking a year out of university to complete the work experience component of his course.

“Slick lips” he replied with a leer.

“What the hell is slick lips?” I asked, then wish I hadn’t after being given a detailed description (If you’ve no idea what I’m talking about – google it – I’m not going there.)

But it gave me an idea.  For days I laboured over the design, bought the materials, then started to create.   Leaving the separate items in the fridge to set before the final assembly I got on with an essay.  There was a knock on the door.  It was a curious housemate. 

“There appears to be a mushroom cap and toilet roll shaped tube made of marzipan covered in chocolate in the fridge and a pink marzipan tongue in the freezer.  Anything to do with you?”.

“Correct on all counts” I replied and would say no more. 

Word got around the university housing complex that something weird, and probably a little kinky, was happening in our house. 

“Wait until Thursday” was all I would say, adding to the speculation.

By the day of the farewell party anticipation was high.  People started gather in the kitchen as I put the parts together.  The cake, covered in glossy bright red icing was in the shape of the Stones lips logo complete with extras.  

“May I present slick lips” I announced to the crowd

“What’s slick lips?” someone piped up

“Google it” I replied.  

Thus my bad taste cake side line was born.  Friends who had birthdays were presented with a cake that generally reflected their fantasies, bad habits or terrible dress sense.   My best creation was a dirty ashtray, complete with beer bottle tops, ash and fag ends (all edible) – but so realistic that it remained unconsumed.  Unfortunately, the baking had to go on hold in my final year when my dissertation took priority.   Another money spinning idea never realised.

One thought on “Pucker up baby

I wold love to hear your thoughts on this post.

