Four hour happy hour, Nice People and a bus named Sweetheart – Malapascua Island, Philipinnes


Malapascau Island. Where sunsets are spectacular, beaches sparkle and the water is clear and clean.

Where bronze limbed local children play joyfully in the sea, girls called salvation and charity sell shell jewellery on the beach after school and thresher sharks swim in the deeps surrounding this exotic atoll.

Where happy hour runs from 3.00 – 7.00pm, the menu at the Craic House never fails to tantalize the taste buds (yes I am a craic addict!) and a double storey stand alone bungalow complete with wi-fi, sat TV, air con, lockable safe, patio and garden (inc breakfast) at Mike and Dionese cost us 1,800 – 2000 pesos a night for two.

Where the clear night skies glitter with a multitude of stars, forked and sheet lightning flashes across the water over the mainland and the only pair of eyes observing were mine.

Where dawn wakes the islands population at 5.00am with a vibrant palette of colours accompanied by the resident cockerels.

Where there are no cars, ATMs, nightclubs, sand flies, backpackers en mass, seven elevens or karaoke bars, or fast food restaurants.

To access this tropical gem one has to disembark at Cebu airport, travel by bus or taxi for a number of hours along a half repaired road then catch a  ferry from Maya for the 1/2 – 3/4 hour sea trip to the island.

Make sure that you visit an ATM before setting out as the nearest town with this type of facility is a 6 hour round trip from the island.

We were caught unawares as the ATM’s at the airport would only dispense 9.000 in one go (unlike the 22,000 that our travel book informed us that we could take out) and because of the mad dash to catch the last ferry boat at 4.00pm we were unable to rectify the situation.

However, the subsequent trip to the mainland to acquire more muller was  well worth the effort as our bus, called sweetheart, took us through lush countryside and colourful villages.

It can only be a matter of time before this relatively unspoilt backwater becomes a main tourist destination.  Visit before it happens!

http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/ShowUserReviews-g659555-d1913186-r114856085-The_Craic_House-Malapascua_Island_Cebu_Visayas.html

http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/Hotel_Review-g659555-d1887858-Reviews-Mike_Diose_s_Beach_Cottage-Malapascua_Island_Cebu_Visayas.html

81 thoughts on “Four hour happy hour, Nice People and a bus named Sweetheart – Malapascua Island, Philipinnes

  1. Wow, the pictures are breathtaking and beautiful! I’m from Cebu but I’ve never been anywhere close to Malapascua. This is definitely one of my must-go destinations in Cebu! Love all the pics you took!

  2. Oh, these pictures just made me sigh and think of my amazing trip to the Philippines last year. Such a beautiful place with such lovely people. Wonderful photos – I can’t wait to check out more of your blog!

  3. What an absolute joy to discover you, your blog and your absolutely stunning images. You have a wonderful eye for capturing beauty and a universality in your images that makes me want to savor each one. Thank you.

  4. I had an amazing time here a few years ago. These photos remind me that I need to go back to the smaller islands and continue to experience the beauty of the Philippines again!

  5. Thank you for liking my posts and visiting my blog. You inspire me to write and pursue my passion for writing.

    My heartfelt thanks for visiting and featuring Republic of the Philippines too. 🙂 We are deeply honored. It was indeed more fun in the Philippines, right? 🙂 love! Love! 🙂

  6. Sweetheart is a jeepney — that’s how we call them over here. 🙂 Thanks for visiting the Philippines!

  7. The photo of the Irish pub reminds me that, should we ever travel beyond this galaxy, land on another plant hospitable to human life, we will find there an Irish pub and a Chinese restaurant.

  8. This sounds totally daft, but I never really thought of the Philippines as having this kind of scenery (stupidly, I know). Adding this to my Asia bucket list 🙂 Thank you for sharing these amazing shots!

  9. Absolutely stunning photos–loved this post! It left me wanting to just run out of the building and just travel somewhere….anywhere but this cube right now!!! Thanks for the mini-vaca via photos!

  10. hi, thank you for checking out my blog and liking a post, if not for it I would not have stumbled upon your awesome blog. I hope to one day inspire a newbie-blogger like you did me. Thank you for sharing your adventures. 🙂

  11. Closer to paradise is hard to come and still all the modern cons – stunning photos again – the colors are amazing in your shots. The 5pm shot is my favorite. Check out the bungalows on the web. Looks great.

  12. Gorgeous collection. So many wonderful colours – love the sunset over the water and that amazing blue during the day….daydreams are made of pictures such as these.

  13. OK, I am selling everything I have and moving to this place. You know I love sunsets and these have me hooked. Your beautiful photos are showing me another paradise to spend my retirement years. You make me dream. Thank you for sharing.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

I wold love to hear your thoughts on this post.

