The color of Advocacy in Guatemala


I have decided to reblog one of the entries into the ‘A word a week challenge’ here is the entry for the week’s word colour. This is an informative and colourful post from thirdeyemom

Thirdeyemom

A Word in Your Ear, a fantastic travel blog that I adore, started a fun travel and photography challenge called “A Word of the Day”. Basically she lets her dictionary open to a word and voila. That is the challenge. Her recent challenge is “colorful” similar to a recent photo challenge I did.

I adore colors, especially on a gray, dreary day like today. They brighten my mood and make me smile.

These photos were taken back in April in Xela, Guatemala on the International Women’s Day. The entire town was involved in a grand celebration and a huge, colorful parade honoring women and advocating for women’s rights. In a country in which domestic violence against women is a significant, unspoken problem, it was wonderful to witness so many people coming together to share their voice and fight for women’s rights.

Here are some of my favorite colorful pictures…

View original post 3 more words

9 thoughts on “The color of Advocacy in Guatemala

  1. I woke up this morning and checked my emails to see several likes for this post. Curious, I looked further and was absolutely delighted to see you reblogged it!!!!! Thank you so much!!!! I truly appreciate you sharing it with your readers especially since advocacy means so much to me and I feel it goes hand and hand with travel. THANK YOU!!! You brightened my day! (It is gray here as it is almost November and all the leaves are gone. This colorful post and your sharing it makes me smile!) Nicole (thirdeyemom)

I wold love to hear your thoughts on this post.

