DP Weekly writing Challenge – Change in attitude – Instagram


The DP Challenge was to take a picture (instagram) and describe how your life was changed.  Its’s taken a while as I needed to download the software and work it out but here is my entry:-

A long time ago when I was a young naive greenhorn struggling with the demands of a conference organising job and a very difficult boss my manager’s manager called me in for ‘a talk’.   He asked me to rate my enjoyment of the job on a scale of 1 – 10.  Of course being young and not wanting to lose my job by admitting the truth I told him 8.   He was surprised because he told me that some of his days were in the minus figures, sometimes 2-3,  occasionally between 4-7 and on the good days 7-10.   I learnt a valuable lesson that day, one which changed my attitude to work.   Of course he was right, no one has a 10 out of 10 day every day of the year or an average of 8, but when they do occur it makes all the crap 1,2 and 3’s days worthwhile.    So now when I wake up instead of thinking today is going to be crap/boring/stressful I think today may be a 10/10 day and that is why I love doing what I do.

Currently I work in a hospital and my department has some amazing doctors/surgeons.  Of course there are bad days as well as good,  but it is moments like this that make the job so worthwhile and fill me with admiration for my work colleagues, the patients and their families  This is once such instance – featured on Melbourne’s Channel 7 TV’s programme Today Tonight.  Here is the link and I challenge you not to be moved by this wonderful story .

Desperate Tourette’s battle  

5 thoughts on “DP Weekly writing Challenge – Change in attitude – Instagram

  1. True… We all have our ups and downs and then it’s up to us to choose how we’re going to spend the rest of our day… I’m glad you told him an 8 because, honestly, there are people who love their jobs and see every day as heavenly. 😉

  2. Thanks for sharing …. life isn’t fair .. and specially not against children at times. What a amazing story .. hopefully that will be the end of his rough journey.

  3. There are some amazing people in this world. Good luck to Liam and his family and grateful thanks for the amazing surgical skills and humanity shown by the medical team.

    Thanks for sharing this
    Corinne

I wold love to hear your thoughts on this post.

